On Being a Dad

IMG_5363

What a ride its been so far!

Having Fletch in our lives Is possibly the most difficult thing that I can describe without sounding like the Mostproudest – mysonisbetterthanyours – hesbetterlooking – waaaaayoverprotective – littlelegend – superhero – hesgonnawineverything Dad. So i’ve put together a few thoughts on what I’ve felt i’ve learnt being a Dad.

I’ve learnt that nothing matters and EVERYTHING matters.

I’ve learnt that a single moment in time changes everything and love fills your heart.

I’ve learnt that I’ll go to the ends of this messed up earth to protect what I love and I can’t thank my Mum and Dad enough for doing the same.

I’ve learnt (known this one for a long time but its been reinforced) that technology/media/what someone says about you/how much you earn/how many shitty ‘likes’ you get online is useless and pathetic and has no bearing on who or what your heart desires.

I’ve learnt that when Fletch first grasped my pinkie finger, I didn’t want him to let go… ever.

IMG_2555

I got reminded (always known thanks to my parents) how strong women are, physically and emotionally. Twinkies Blog.

I’ve learnt that I can sort of function with a 1/2 hours sleep in 3 days (Twinkie says i can’t but i’m perfectly operational with a gallon of coffee in the system).

Real human interaction, like actually spending time listening and talking and looking into peoples eyes is so damn important.

I’ve learnt to wake up with a smile every morning!

IMG_3114

Wake up like this everyday!

No smell in the world will make me flinch and changing nappies for time is a perfectly good excuse for competition.

Now the list goes on and on and all the cliches are true. “You never know until you’ve had a child” – “they change everything” blah blah blah – Insert cheesy quote… but what about the stuff no one talks about??

Here goes..

The first two weeks being a Dad are the hardest and scariest yet most joyous i’ve ever encountered. Everything is new and terrifying. The days blurred into one and on more than a few occasions I was reduced to tears at 3.45am. (Yes folks, I cried!). A super hug from Twinkie is all I needed to get my shit together again.

I’ve second guessed myself countless times. Is this for me? Have we made the right decision (too late now! Haha). What do I do now? I actually got angry with the world, I was angry with Fletchbuddy and I actually got angry with Sarah! Its weird but I guarantee any other red blooded/semi-normal male has thought the same and gotten angry for no good reason other than what males need is some Man-Time. Go lift some weight, catch the game, punch the bag, go for a wave. We’re wired differently.

Its a true test of your own self, and a massive test of your relationship! I personally think that because Sarah and I don’t take life so seriously we’re doing just fine. I can’t wait for the day that Fletch rolls his eyes at us for being too childish. Then I’ll know we’re on the right track. Tom Robbins got it right saying… When they say “Grow Up” they mean stop growing.IMG_3245

Lets see … what else… Oh yeah! Everyones opinion can go get stuffed. They have 1 child and all of a sudden they’re experts? Come on people… seriously?

A few dads have said to me “Ask me anytime because I’ve made every mistake in the book”. Don’t be too proud to ask for another blokes help.

Leave a comment